Similar/Familiar…living in the 70’s

Two posts in one weekend, not like me at all, but I had to share some photo’s because…….

Kath wrote a post about the 70’s, I was late teens into early 20’s in the 70’s and wore kaftans, bell bottom pants, calico dresses, cheesecloth tops, hippy skirts, cord jeans, crochet bikinis……not good when wet!!!! and I had long hair.

I was just 18 here, and engaged, in my future husbands (family) garden, so young!

A very grainy photo at my brother’s 21st, I was 19 and a half and already married.  I loved this dress, it was very fine cord with a Medieval black screen print on the sleeves, it was long and had a hood…..loved, loved, loved it.

I was around 20 in this photo, by the time I turned 21 I had my hair cut into a bob, what a disaster that was…..I do not suit bobs.  I loved this dress too, bought it from the same shop as the cord one.  This one was black crepe, long and had the medieval black screen print on a white panel down the front.  I did love my dresses from “The World of In’ shop.

And Kath this one is for you….see the Macramé hanging in the corner!!!! Sorry it is blurry, hard to take a photo of a photo.

And this is Kaila at 21, do you see a resemblance to her mamma???

Reminds me of the words in a Melissa Ethridge song “She’s got similar features with longer hair”

Off to get another tissue…..

Bye

xoSandi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Similar/Familiar…living in the 70’s

  1. Gem says:

    Sandi you look a,sizing in these pics!!! Wow! Ans yes I can so see the resemblance in you both. How are you feeling today? X x

  2. Gem says:

    Oh the flipping I pad!!! I meant amazing of course!!! And sorry for other error. X

  3. Amanda says:

    Wow Sandi!!!! Pretty gals…you and daughter that is! She is so much like you too.

    Keep well

    Amanda 🙂

  4. julie says:

    Oh Sandi Fab piccies I LOVED sharing them,You are Beautiful and so is Kaila,oh happy Sunday sweetie,xxx

  5. Hey Sandi, you look hot, hot, hot in those photos! Your long hair was amazing. Your daughter is the spit of you, good genes eh!

    Thanks for sharing the photos. Scary to think at 19 and a half you were married, you were still a baby!

    Helen xx

  6. Kath says:

    Wow, great post Sandi! I will have to rais myMums photos next time I go over. You looked so lovely, willowy and pretty. And your daughter could be you!
    Love the macrame pot holder! I have the urge to make one now LOL

  7. Bimbi says:

    Lovely pictures! Maybe I should start hunting for the 70’s!!!
    Bimbi x

  8. Melissa says:

    Pretty Mama = Pretty Daughter! Thanks for sharing those pics…just gorgeous!

  9. Ella says:

    Lovely post Sandi
    Thanks a million for sharing
    Love Ella xoxoxoxo

  10. Sandra says:

    Your daughter is so like you, she’s a lovely girl. And, oh my goodness, the macrame takes me back… think we had a spider plant hanging in a knotted string thing! x

  11. Deb says:

    I am in tears Sandi. You were so much a part of my childhood. You were the one that told me to pluck one or two eyebrow hairs at a time…. ‘your mum wont be able to tell’. I might be mistaken, but I think I could have been the one to take the pic of you on the couch with the Macrame in the background. I know you sewed a smock for me, just like yours, that you sewed for a school project?, I can still see the picture of me in it that was taken at No 2 that I no longer have due to the QLD floods. I want you to also know that that little Bunny you sent to my youngest daughter Kaitlin, over 21 years ago is still around. She sits pride of place in her room now. She was saved from the flood. I love reading your blog and I hope to catch up one day. xxx Deb

  12. Deb says:

    Oh, and did I tell you that I idolized you. xxx

  13. Kaila is very like you. And you both look absolutely lovely in these pics.

    I’m a little younger than you – I was a teen in the late 70s, didn’t hit my 20s until the 80s – but I remember my friend Polly next door having an older sister with long hair and Boho dresses and thinking she was just the most stylish person in the whole wide world. Now I see she had competition for that title, over in Oz 😀

  14. Absolutely – both so gorgeous and such lovely smiles.

    I was just a babe in the 70’s so my era of remembering (and mischief) was more the late 80’s early 90’s – but I have such fond memories of the fashion and styles of the 70’s. Apparently – according to my mum – I was a big Bay City Rollers fan and used to wiggle my bum until my nappy fell down when ever they played on Top of the Pops! Those were the days.

    Nina xxx

  15. Ella says:

    Sandi that is a lovely post
    By the way i put up a new post please comment on it 😀
    Xx Ella Xx

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

