“Encaustic…….

…….having pigments mixed with wax applied to a surface by heat”

A few weeks ago, well more than a few……I caught up with a gorgeous girl that I haven’t seen in many years, we catch up on Facebook tho.  She has her own business hereKath, I feel that you would love Julia.

Julia has started offering classes in Encaustic art, I was curious as to what this was, knew it involved bee’s wax and that was about it.  She lives in a suburb called Williamstown and is only a  street away from the beach just over an hour from me.  I didn’t think to take my camera, as usual, so if you click on the link you will see some lovely photo’s.

It was a beautiful day, sunny and warm, just had to call into the yarn shop down there first tho’ can’t help myself, and bought two balls of noro yarn.

Then raced around to Julia’s to start making art!!!!!

She wanted us to start with Red, after a little meditation we were off.This was my first one, if you stare at it long enough you start to see things, can you see the little animal face in the left hand corner, reminded me of a little beaver, or hedgehog……is that a sign that I will visit the UK soon I wonder.

After the red we were allowed to use any colors we wanted, so I grabbed some black paper and came up with this….…………..looks like land and sea don’t you think.

This was my third piece.  Looks like a yellow bird in flight or long petals/leaves of a flower.

They are not very big in size, around 5inches by 3inches.

You use a tiny iron that doesn’t have steam holes, rub colored bee’s wax on the sole plate and then just swipe it over the special Encaustic paper, you can add more color it you want and keep building it up, but I was happy with what I did.

Julia sent me a lovely card made from one of her pieces, and she is slowly building a Tarot set using this medium.

A winter scene.

A lovely morning reconnecting and learning something new.  It is Mother’s Day tomorrow and I decided I will take mum down to do the next class in about a months time, it will be a belated Mother’s Day Pressie, she doesn’t know I will just bundle her into the car.  I have bought her a few little pieces to open tomorrow so she doesn’t get suspicious 🙂

Julia also makes the most amazing essences, I bought a room spray and an aura spray, they smell soooooo good.

BUNNY…….

I have a very shy little girl here

Isn’t she sweet peeking through the flowers.

I can see you!!!!!

Ahhh, there she is, with her little pink cheeks and her blue polka dot ears

I won this gorgeous girl over at Fi’s blog, I love her not sure what to call her as yet, I am just calling her bunny (original I know) for the moment…..any suggestions?????

My granddaughter saw her last week and came running out with her in her arms all excited saying ‘Look what nanna’s got’  bless her.

Thank you Fi, she is a beautiful and welcome edition into my life.

Well my lovelies, I hope you are all happy and well and that the rain has stopped and the sun is shining.

xoxo S xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Encaustic…….

  1. Bimbi says:

    You could always call her Fifi! Looks like you had a lot of fun with the colours.
    Are you coming to the UK? If you do let me know.
    Enjoy your weekend – finally the sun is shining here 🙂
    Bimbi x

  2. Kath says:

    yes very much my kind of thing! thanks for sharing the link. I love what you made Sandi!

  3. Helen says:

    Oooh, that encaustic art is really quite fascinating.

    I had a feeling your granddaughter would make a beeline for the bunny! Doesn’t it look gorgeous? Fi makes such beautiful artworks.

    xXx Helen

  4. knitsofacto says:

    Those wax colours are somehow delicate and punchy at the same time, they’re lovely pieces Sandi. And Bunny, how perfect is she! I know someone called Bunny and you couldn’t meet a nicer person. She has a sister called Petal, that might suit your bunny too 😀

  5. Whoa, these are pictures of your first class in Encaustic art?! The colors and shapes are gorgeous!

  6. Melissa says:

    The Encaustic art sounds interesting and looks beautiful! Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day! Love the Bunny!

  7. Miss Holly says:

    Absolutely fascinating work!! I love color! I am going to have to check out this site…. and your bunny…..Well….she became Miss bun bun when I looked at her…so…..and Thank you so much for the over the top nice comment on my site….this is why I love this blog world….because you know for certain that there are really wonderful people out there…..despite what the news people would have us believe!!!! You are a love!!

  8. Gem says:

    Hello sweetness.
    Hope all is well with you. Am totally loving that bunny, how cute. The artwork you have created is amazing, nice to see something a little different.
    Thanks for reading my blog, it means a lot.
    Ah bless cuckoo for all her kindness re the parcel you got in your last post. Really thoughtful girl, she bought you some truly amazing things, you lucky girl.
    X x x x x

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

