Job update

Hello lovelies, hope today has rewarded you with happiness…..and some sunshine.

Just a little update on my job, I am cleaning the house and having a coffee so thought I would pop on here and say hello……..

I am really enjoying my new job as a receptionist, the people I work with are a cheery lot and as I sit out the front I can hear them nattering away and laughing, such a change from the other job.  They, one by one, pop out and ask me if I am ok, not too lonely etc.  They have a radio playing too so I listen to music all day which is also nice.   I am finding the work interesting and not too hard, challenging but not over the top that I cannot figure it out.  One of the young men rang in the other day and of course I answered the phone and he told me I sounded really good on the phone….I feel very comfortable there and feel as if I have been there for a long time.  I started last Friday and we went out for lunch (Thai) which was very nice.  They have an hour for lunch but I am only taking half as I need to leave an hour early one day (for my other part-time job) so the pay stays the same.

I am meant to work Mon & Thurs but this last week I worked Monday all day, Wednesday half day, all day Thursday and half Friday as the other girl is looking after her hubby who had an operation last week.  I am a bit tired today…..a good tired tho.

I went shopping late yesterday and bought a few work clothes and a pair of shoes, as I am out front and greet people I need to look nice without wearing a suit.  (I am wearing clothes and shoes that are so old they almost came out of the Ark) Bought a couple of dresses a top and three cardis and the shoes, and the best thing, everything I bought was ultra cheap on sale.   I will take pics when they are dry and ironed.  Gosh I actually wake up and feel happy to go to work, pleasant change.

I am feeling for a friend of mine, she doesn’t live in this state (county?) and she is doing it really tough, she is not well medically, hasn’t got a job as they sacked her because she asked for less hours to cope with her illness, her gas and electricity are being cut off, her car taken from her and her phone just got cut off and she can’t afford to buy food.  It makes me so sad for her, she is a good kind hearted girl and will do anything for you, she is a single mum too.  In this world of riches we should not have this sort of situation, but because of greed and the materialist world we live in and the stupid ancient government rules it happens all too often.  I do get on my soap box about single mums who have to bring up children, run a house, work and pay bills etc just like a man but get paid less, it is so unjust, I get quite angry about it.  I am very lucky that I have this job now because I can still live in this house.  If it wasn’t for this job I would be living in my car within a year (I kid you not)  I do pray that something changes in this world so that people do not have to live life in misery because they cannot afford a home to live in, pay their bills and put food on the table.

I have started a ripple blanket which I am enjoying at the moment (photo soon) and have started reading Miss Read books again, Nicki got me back into reading them, such quaint English writing, I take the book into the lunch room and read whilst I eat lunch (I am the only one in there so I’m not being a snob)

Ok, coffee is finished, cd is finished (love Enigma) so back to it, I am having dinner with a friend tonight we haven’t caught up in months, will be good to have a chat with her.

Toodle xoxoxo

This entry was posted in Books, Clothes, Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Job update

  1. Helen says:

    I’m glad to hear that your new job is going well. It’s great when things (finally!) start to fall into place. I understand about your friend, it’s sad when that happens, I struggle a bit myself being a single mum, sometimes the bills are more than my income, and the real estate agent has just increased my rent by $40 a week! But it all seems to even out in the end.
    Hope you have a lovely dinner and a wonderful time with your friend.
    xXx Helen

  2. Melissa says:

    So glad to hear everything is going well for you! Can’t wait to see you ripple. Sending thoughts, prayers & good vibes for your friend. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Bimbi says:

    Glad you like your new job and the people there. That’s always so important.
    What a terrible tale about your friend. Do you not have social security in Australia? I have a single mum friend who gets benefits, but also works and she told me that the benefits far outweigh her earnings. She thinks that the Sate in the UK is giving TOO MUCH money to people, thus discouraging them from seeking proper employment.
    You’re right, this sort of thing should not be happening in our world.
    Enjoy your sun – here it’s all downhill from now …. grrrrrr….brrrrrrrrr…
    Bimbi x

  4. kath says:

    Lovely cheery news about your job, I’m so pleased you are enjoying it.
    Pleasant co-workers make such a difference, don’t they.

  5. Nicki says:

    I’m so pleased for you that you’ve found a job you enjoy. Sounds like a lovely bunch and I’m glad to hear they look after you and check you’re not lonely.

    Have you read many Miss Read books? If you’d like a couple more I’m happy to pass on the ones I’ve read – I’ll post them over to you if you drop me an email with your address.

    Looking forward to seeing your ripple blanket – I’m planning on starting one of them soon but I can’t get my head round how many stitches I’ll need to do for the foundation chain for a large double blanket!

    Nicki xx

    PS Hope things pick up for your friend soon, an appalling situation for her and it shouldn’t happen in this day and age.

  6. Kate says:

    Thats great about your job Sandi, i’m so glad you’re enjoying it. Thats awful for your friend, she mus be at her wits end, hopefully her luck will change soon. Take care, K xx

  7. Penelope says:

    Hi Sandi
    I agree with all the comments above, so important to work in an environment of mutual respect and a happy environment, good for you for going for it and embracing your new role. As for your friend, social injustice makes my blood boil and I will pray for her and her situation.
    Hope you have a lovely catch up with your friend and enjoy making your new ripple blankie. Take care Sandi xox Penelope

  8. julie says:

    hi Sandi,such good news about your job,its sounds lovely. I’m so sad to hear about your friend,I hope that she will be alright? Take care and hope you enjoy the weekend,juliexxx

  9. Sandra says:

    glad the jobs going well, we spend such a large part of our waking hours at work it makes so much difference if you feel appreciated and can look forward to going. Enjoy a rest at the weekend x

  10. Cuckoo says:

    I echo all of the above comments re your job and your friends situation. I think can see how vulnerable you feel and how you feel helpless to help your friend the way you’d like to and also how you realise a small change in fortune and you too could be in her shoes. Tricky. Very tricky. I’m so pleased that currently things are working out well for you my lovely.

    Ripple oh ripple, I’ve always got a massive to do list on the go but a little ripple cowl is firmly up there. I think I need a ripple cowl (snood?) for the winter. Yes need!!!

    xxxx

  11. Stephanie says:

    Sandi, I am so glad your new job is panning out so well. Happy, happy days.

    Have a peaceful week with a little time, I hope, for rippling!

  12. Annie says:

    I’m so glad that your new job is working out well Sandi, you sound really relaxed and happy about it 😀 But how awful for your friend. I feel so lucky here in the UK where if you’re sick the state pays to keep a roof over your head and for your treatment, medicines and food. I forget sometimes how privileged we are, thank you for the reminder.

    Oh, remember those thatched cottages that burned down … they are being rebuilt! Such good news. And the families who lived in them are living with other local families while it happens. Lots of people have donated stuff to replace the things they lost, which was pretty much everything. Another privilege, to live where communities pull together when things go wrong. I’m counting my blessings today!

  13. regina says:

    hello
    oh you read the book of miss read……..i love those books,very. i like crochet and knitting too.
    nice blog.
    greetings from germany,
    regina

  14. echo ing cuckoo! and so glad your new job is working out (realising it’s not so new now – I’m always behind!)
    Thanks for becoming a follower (100! whoop) I thought that you were too!
    Here’s to a happy week,
    fee x

  15. Congratulations with the new job. It’s good to hear that you’re enjoying it so much.

    Your stool cover looks fab, it’s a shame I haven’t got one to cover!

  16. Miss Holly says:

    I am so happy about your job…what a difference it makes to go to work and like it!!! I can not stop thinking about your friend…..it makes me sick to think of anyone suffering…it is so wrong…no one on this earth should have to want…there is enough for all….I will keep her in my thoughts and hope that something changes for the good in her life….soon!!
    O.k. so I don’t know about Miss Read books…but I am going to have to find out!! sounds like my cup of tea…Happy Day to you!

  17. Hi Sandi, so pleased that your new job is going well and you are enjoying it 🙂 I’m almost 3 months into my new job – it’s going well, but I still feel like I’m feeling my way a bit.
    Look forward to seeing your ripple blanket.
    And I hope things are on the up soon for your friend
    Jones x

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

