………..

“A house without books is a home with no soul”

I just read that here, a blog that I read from time to time, and it got me thinking.

I have friends that don’t read and of course do not have any books around, their children don’t read either, in fact one house in particular doesn’t have books, or anything crafty, no baking………nothing, it is a very sad house.

All my kids read, and I read so we are never bored.  I wonder what it would be like not to have a story speak to you, wrap its words around you, comfort you,  take you on a journey, make you laugh, make you cry.

I have two book cases that stand at around 6ft tall and 3ft wide, full of books and bits and bobs and boxes out in the garage full of books too.

I love my books.

Am reading a book at the moment called ‘The Joy Luck Club’ which makes me think of Japan, so I send love to them, their animals and to Mother Earth for she must be in great turmoil.

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ………..

  1. Helen says:

    I agree! Books are so much a part of my life (and now my 2 yo daughter’s life) that I couldn’t imagine not having them around. I love to check out other people’s bookcases when I visit, it tells you a lot about them. And crafts too. I am not very arty, but I started doing cross stitch in my early 20s, then I moved on to soap making, then on to beaded jewellery and now it’s crochet that has me hooked! Throw in a bit of baking here and there and I am happy.

  2. Melissa says:

    As a self professed nerd, I couldn’t live without books. I have them all over my house. Unfortunately, the men in my house only read when they have to. Every once in a while Number Two Son will read and when he does, he gets totally lost. It’s really rather cute. Have a lovely week!

  3. Gosh Sandi

    We can hardly move for books! Especially my husband, he’s book mad. He needs to live to about 400 to get through his book list. lol.
    Hope you’re feeling better now.

    love fi x

  4. I can’t imagine having empty bookshelves – ours are bursting with lots of books on a variety of subjects, and story books too, it makes it feel homely doesn’t it!
    Thanks for including me in your blogroll, come and visit me again soon!
    Jones x

  5. Sandi, I’m quite excited about this Noro skirt you’re making! How about a WIP post so I can see how it is coming along??!! I just found a lovely pattern for a scarf I’m going to try with my beautiful ball of pink and green Noro sock yarn, so am hunting down other sock yarn projects! bet it’s taking ages! 4ply!!! Aaaaahhh!!!
    XXX

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

