Hello

Hello there

It’s been a while

But here I am again

Where do the days/weeks go, busy doing what women do

Since I was last here we lost a friend, she was young (early 50’s) and has left two girls, 20 and 17, behind.  Sad………we will all help as much as we can but no one will fill the void of a mother.  My friend kept her illness to herself, always helping others and her passing was a great shock to all.

Bless you Liz xx

 

 

I have finally got a few things together for the flood victims, will send it off tomorrow, we have a holiday today, it is Australia Day.

I went to some charity shops and was able to pick up some knitting needles and crochet hooks, I washed and disinfected them, put them into pairs and wrapped them up, some fat quarters, embroidery threads, scissors, tape measures, sewing needles, cotton and some yarn.

Have been a little busy knitting for a friend, little vest and pixi booties (thank you Alice for sharing the pixi pattern) I also made a beanie but she already has that.

I also knitted a vest and beanie in this wool…..

I loved the way it knitted up too, I only had two balls, on sale $2 each, yay!!!!

This cute little girl vest which I still havent finished as yet, still need to sew on some buttons and the flower (after I sew in all the ends)

I knitted this in Stitch Nation ‘Bamboo ewe’ it is so soft and lovely to knit with.

I bought this book from here it has beautiful simple knits for babies all in natural fibres, I’m in love with this book, so I started kniting this yesterday……

A sweet little cross over jacket, am knitting it in Bendigo 4ply cotton, it is so soft and snuggly.

I also ordered and received these two books

Still waiting on Nicky’s crochet flower book, then of course I had to order a couple more books from Erika Knight (I’m hopeless)

Tomorrow I am off to a yarn shop not too far from here, 30 min drive, to buy some, either Debbie Bliss or Rowan and some Jo Sharpe, I am so happy I have found a yarn shop that stocks these.  I do love to stroke and squeeze yarn so I know what it feels like.

A friend has celebrated another birthday, we have as yet to catch up, I made this little bag for her and bought a couple of things to put in it..

I am really enjoying this ‘making/crafting’ journey, I get excited every time I finish something and can’t wait to get stuck into the next project, I really need to finish off the current piece before I start another one tho’.

I looked after my granddaughter on Monday and she put on a scarf, beads, her pj pants on her head and had a big pencil and came out to tell me she was a witch.  She makes me laugh so much.  She is starting ballet this year and my daughter is over the moon, the babies are so cute to watch dancing, I work on a Saturday morning at the dance school for a few weeks at the beginning of each term so I am able to watch them.

 

I have a wedding to go to on Friday, my friend and I have been friends for over 32 years and our kids have grown up together, her second boy is getting married.  They are getting married at a winery and having the reception there too, it will be great to catch up with my friends family they are a great bunch of people, they are like my second family.

 

It is a cool day here today, a perfect day for the feet up with a cuppa and my knitting, so I will stop rambling for now.

Have a wonderful happy day and for the lovely UK people, it’s one more day closer to Spring 🙂

xxxxoooo

 

NB.  the little green vest is from here but I’m not sure where I got the other one (purple) from, sorry to the owner of the pattern.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello

  1. I thought those booties looked familiar! Glad you liked the pattern! I’m going to whip up one of those wee vests too! i’ve got the pattern printed out!

  2. Hi Sandi! Its Alice here, I was on Mums computer and left a message under her name not mine!
    Of COURSE you can order Mum’s wool, she is an ashford dealer, so you’ll be able to have the same colours as the lush ones I use! Yay!
    Mum says if you go to http://www.ashford.co.nz you can pick the colours and she’ll get them for you… not sure how much postage will be, but you guys can liase over that!
    How funny, we were excited to see you were Mums first “real” visitor!
    Love Alice

  3. Lorraine says:

    Lots of lovely makes Sandi, you have been busy. Nothing like going to choose the wool yourself. That knitted bears book looks great, can’t wait to see what you make from it.

  4. Melissa says:

    You are so talented! I don’t know why I have such a problem with knitting, but I’m always so impressed by everyone’s work. So sorry about your friend. It’s always so sad when the young leave us too early. Speaking of young, your grand daughter is going to be quite the heart breaker!

  5. kath says:

    You have been busy making those lovely things. I love your little Grand daughter, she is a peach!

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

