20th Birthday

My daughter

had an extended birthday, she was out celebrating Saturday and Sunday nights, Monday lunch and ended with a family dinner on Tuesday night.

She requested Thai Fish cakes, Thai Green Curry Chicken and a Black Forest Cake for dinner.

I had a little incident whilst making the cake!!!!!

I was measuring the cocoa and tapped the side of the measuring bowl and over it went, cocoa powder all over the bench the floor and me, I said a couple of words that I shouldn’t have, vacuumed it all up, wiped it all up and then crossed my fingers that I had enough cocoa left in the packet….I did….just.

It looks so messy here, four layers of………….

Black Cherry jam, heated with some syrup from the jar of cherries, on the bottom followed by chocolate mousse followed by whipped cream and then the cherries in a thick syrup, another layer of cake and repeat three more times, ending with mousse, cream, cherries and candles.

Whilst Kaila was helping me put it in the container she sort of tipped it sideways, so it ended up like the leaning tower of Pisa and the fillings oozed out, and the top layer sort of went in the opposite direction…….BUT it was absolutely decadent, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, finger licking scrumptious.

Oh the rest of the meal was very nice too and my beautiful daughter in law made some very yummy lemon cupcakes with lemon icing and a dollop of lemon curd on top.

A lovely night with my mum and dad, my aunty and her sister, my kids, granddaughter and the kids dad.

The birthday girl with her two brothers, James (21) on the left and Paul (27) on the right (of the photo). Sorry about the ‘red’ eyes.

I was very tired this morning when the alarm went off at 6.10am for my walk, but out I got and off I went, and brrrrr it was cold.  We are having a rather cold snap here and it has rained for four days straight, we have even had snow….One month away from summer, can you believe that????!!!

Well must away and cook dinner and then an early night for me.

Sending bucket loads of love to you all, and a big hug too.

Sandi x

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 20th Birthday

  1. Lorraine says:

    Gorgeous children Sandi! A lovely relaxed and happy photograph. The cake looks decadent glad you all had such a lovely evening. You are good getting up. I have slipped the last two days and not gotten up until 8am so missed my run.

  2. Melissa says:

    Sandi that cake looks amazing!! I have found that the worse my cake looks, the better it tastes so I love wonky, tilted, messy cakes because I know they are going to taste superb! And Thai food?! It must have been an amazing meal. You have lovely children and I know you must be so proud!

  3. Mwa says:

    You have gorgeous children and I want some of that cake!

  4. kath says:

    What beautiful children, you must be very proud!

  5. The Cuckoo says:

    Hi Sandi!, How are you? The menu your daughter chose for her birthday is totally up my street. Think I may have to “develope” a craving and make my husband go all the way into town to get a thai take away.

    I’ve just found a spare moment to pop by so I’m going to cut this message short and read what I have missed here over the last few months. Gosh it’s good to back into the swing of things, just wish i could speed up a bit! xx

  6. auntiegwen says:

    Ooh you have beautiful children and I gained 10 pounds just looking at that cake!!!!

I LOVE comments, so don't be shy, Introduce yourself then I can come and visit you :)

